Rune Beta Date Set for August 18th

Human Head Studios has dropped a fresh teaser trailer today for their upcoming Viking action RPG title. The studio has also provided us with details on the upcoming Rune beta that’s scheduled for this weekend.

The Rune beta will go live on Saturday, August 18th at 10:00 a.m. Pacific, 1:00 p.m. Eastern for both the United States and Europe. The Rune beta will only last a few hours, with servers then cutting off at 2:00 p.m. Pacific, 5:00 p.m. Eastern. The developers state that only those that have signed up ahead of time on the game’s site will be able to access the Rune closed beta.

Today’s trailer does a lot to stir up excitement for the game. We’ve got frost giants and dragons, with the threat of Ragnarok and a vicious Loki looming overhead. With the god of mischief planning to “reset Ragnorak keeping Midgard in an endless apocalypse,” you’ll have to “save yourself and all of mankind from the Norse apocalypse.” Here’s Human Head Studio’s narrative breakdown for the game:

“Inspired by the legends of Norse mythology, Rune takes place in Midgard during Ragnarok, the end of days. Venture by land and sea across a once-beautiful world ravaged by the schemes of the trickster deity, Loki. Choose your god, complete quests in their name, and use their unique blessings to free the world from Loki’s grip. Discover mighty weapons and armor, drink mead, and vanquish giant monsters, feral beasts, the living and the undead with ferocious Viking brutality. Play alone, team up with friends, or face off against real opponents in PvP battles.”

Outside of the Rune beta dates, Human Head Studios has also confirmed that Rune will be making its debut on Steam Early Access in September.

See Also:

More from Nerd Much?